Winston Tops 2014 Heisman Trophy Futures

The 2014 NCAA Football season is still three months from starting. However, that has not stopped online bookmakers Bovada, betonline, topbet or from having futures odds for the National championship to be played in mid January of 2015.

In addition, these same odds makers have released the futures for the 2014 race for the Heisman Trophy that is awarded to the most outstanding collegiate football player in the nation.

Last season the trophy was awarded to another freshman when Florida State’s talented quarterback Jameis Winston won the prestigious award.

The year previous to Winston winning, freshman quarterback Johnny Manziel won the award while at Texas A&M, he played his sophomore year at A&M and last week was drafted by the Cleveland Browns.

While many continue to believe Winston is the nation’s top quarterback and one of the best NCAA Football players in the country, he has not done himself any favors in the news of late.

During the offseason, Winston has been accused of shoplifting which is not a good way to start the defense of the Heisman Trophy.

On four occasions to since the start of the decade, the winner of the Heisman Trophy has returned to his school the next season in an attempt to win for a second time to join Archie Griffin from the Ohio State Buckeyes as the only two-time Heisman winner.

The big question leading up to this season is whether Florida State’s Winston can do what the likes of Tim Tebow, Matt Leinart, Sam Bradford and Manziel could not. According to the new 2014 Heisman Trophy futures Winston enters the season as the favorite to repeat.

Over 12 of the last 14 seasons, a quarterback has won the trophy. In each of the past 5 seasons, it has gone to a quarterback as well.

Todd Gurley the Georgia Bulldogs’ talented running back is the highest rated player who is not a quarterback at 9 to 1 to take home the hardware.

Perhaps it will not be Winston but another quarterback could step up such as Marcus Mariota from Oregon is 7 to 1 and Braxton Miller from Ohio State is also at 7 to 1.

Latest 2014 Heisman Trophy Futures

Jameis Winston (Florida State) 7 to 2

Marcus Mariota (Oregon) 7 to 1

Braxton Miller (Ohio State) 7 to 1

Todd Gurley (Georgia) 9 to 1

Bryce Petty (Baylor) 10 to 1

T.J. Yeldon (Alabama) 15 to 1

Trevor Knight (Oklahoma) 17 to 1

Brett Hundley (UCLA) 18 to 1

Melvin Gordon (Wisconsin) 18 to 1

Nick Marshall (Auburn) 22 to 1